Skip to main content
North Korea

North Korea

Published on July 16, 2009
Communiqué issued by the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs

Paris, July 17, 2009

We welcome the strengthening of sanctions against North Korea approved yesterday by the UN Security Council’s 1718 Sanctions Committee.

This move was provided by UNSCR 1874, adopted on 12 June in response to the second North Korean nuclear test, which tasked the committee with adopting individual sanctions within 30 days in addition to the measures already in place.

The members of the Security Council thus agreed to sanction five entities and five persons involved in the North Korean nuclear and ballistic programmes. Their financial assets will now be frozen in the UN’s 192 member countries. A travel ban will be imposed on the five persons concerned, preventing them from leaving North Korea.

Yesterday’s decision also makes it possible to expand the list of sensitive materials under embargo that can no longer be imported by North Korea.

After the sanctions already put in place in June by UNSCR 1874, these new designations constitute a significant reinforcement of the sanctions against North Korea since 2006. These measures are a firm response by the international committee to the nuclear test and to the recent launch of ballistic missiles.

Once again we call on North Korea to refrain from new provocations and respect her international obligations in order to achieve the complete, verifiable and irreversible denuclearization of the Korean peninsula./.

      top of the page