Skip to main content
Contest Helps Young French Entrepreneurs in U.S.

Contest Helps Young French Entrepreneurs in U.S.

Published on October 28, 2011

The 2011 edition of the French-American Entrepreneurship Award, an annual contest which aims at helping young French professionals to start companies in the U.S., opened its application process this week.

Supported since its creation in 2008 by Mr. François Delattre, then Consul General of France in New York and now Ambassador of France in the United States, this contest is an initiative of the Club 600, a group of French entrepreneurs founded in 1985 and based in New York. This year, the contest is co-organized by The French-American Chamber of Commerce (FACC) of New York, which has since 1896 promoted commercial relations between France and the United States.

The winner of the French-American Entrepreneurship Award will receive a cash prize of $10,000, a 12-month coaching package comprised of strategic, legal, accounting, and financial advice from a project team of relevant business and industry leaders, and complimentary one‐year memberships in the FACC and Club 600.

“Today’s economic climate continues to be incredibly challenging for new ventures, but we believe that success is nonetheless possible, as evidenced by our previous years’ winners,” says Emmanuel Cargill, Award Committee Chair and Club 600 member.” We created this program to provide encouragement to a new generation of entrepreneurs.”

To apply, entrepreneurs must submit business plans for review by a panel of Club 600 and FACC members with expertise across a variety of business disciplines and industries. To be eligible to participate in the competition, proposed projects must be in a pre‐launch or start-up phase; for profit; operating in and for the U.S. market; and led by a French entrepreneur under the age of 35.

The 2011 French-American Entrepreneur Award will be announced on February 6, 2012, during a ceremony at the Consulate General of France in New York.

Applications must be submitted by December 31, 2011. Submission guidelines and more information about the award are available at www.faea‐

      top of the page