Skip to main content

Meeting of the Weimar Triangle/Belarus

Published on March 2, 2012
Joint declaration by Guido Westerwelle, German Foreign Minister, Radoslaw Sikorski, Polish Foreign Minister, and Alain Juppé, Ministre d’Etat, Minister of Foreign and European Affairs

Paris, February 29, 2012

The Foreign Ministers of the Weimar Triangle, Guido Westerwelle, Radoslaw Sikorski and Alain Juppé, declared today:

Following a decision by the Belarus government to ask the ambassadors of the EU and Poland to leave the country, all EU member states decided yesterday to recall their ambassadors to their respective capitals for consultations as an act of EU unity and solidarity.

We deeply regret that our relations with Belarus have deteriorated to such a state but President Lukashenko has left the EU with no alternative.

Nonetheless, we are determined to continue and intensify our engagement with the Belarusian people and civil society, i.a. through the “European Dialogue on Modernisation”. We also remain open for dialogue and cooperation with the Belarus authorities as soon as there are unmistakable signs of an improved political and human rights situation in Belarus. We reiterate our call to Minsk to release and rehabilitate all political prisoners and put an end to repression.

At the same time, we will have no other choice than to adopt additional significant restrictive measures towards persons responsible for serious violations of human rights or the repression of civil society and democratic opposition as well as persons and entities benefitting from or supporting the regime, unless the human rights situation in Belarus improves./.

(Source of English text: German Foreign Ministry website)

      top of the page