Skip to main content

Lisbon (European Treaty of)

Published on November 28, 2007

EU leaders signed the new Reform Treaty in Lisbon on October 18th 2007. It does not replace previous treaties but amends them in order to simplify the workings of the enlarged 27-nation Union.

The treaty includes several major innovations:

- A stable, two-and-a-half year presidency (rather than a six-month rotating presidency) and a streamlined European Commission
- Instituting majority votes in some policy areas, including criminal justice, judicial and police cooperation
- Increasing the role of national parliaments in the decision-making process
- Creating a High Union Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, with his or her own diplomatic service
- Giving legal force to the Charter of Fundamental Rights
- Allowing citizen initiatives, enabling a million citizens to ask the Commission to submit a proposal.

The Lisbon Treaty will enter in force on January 1, 2009, after its ratification by Member States, either by their parliaments or by referendum.

Both houses of the French Parliament voted the ratification on February 8th, 2008.

Text of the European Treaty of Lisbon

Click here for more information

      top of the page